Skip to content

Too many veggies?

March 22, 2011

Question:

After I do my workouts I’m starving! I eat something light and healthy before, and then I’m starving afterwards. I find myself eating a lot of vegetables; potatoes, snap peas, celery sticks, petite carrots, etc. Is that bad? I don’t get full quickly and I’m worried I’m eating too many right after a workout. 

Answer:

Hi Reader!

Too many veggies? Well, in my mind you can never have too many veggies, too many of the right kind that is.  After your workouts you need something that is going to help you recover, replenish, and rebuild.  Unfortunately, while vegetables will give you all of the vitamins and minerals you need, they probably aren’t your best option to help you get the most out of your workouts.  It’s important to remember that just because you worked out doesn’t mean you can eat anything you want, especially starchy vegetables like potatoes.  Eating too much of the wrong foods will not advance your workout and could possibly have negative effects, storing the food you eat as fat rather than muscle.  The perfect post-workout meal, to me, would be something light and protein rich to aid in recovery, yet enough to satisfy.  If you haven’t checked out my protein bar recipe here you definitely should!  They would be perfect after a tough workout but light enough to still be hungry for your next meal!  Hope this helps you!

No comments yet

Leave a comment