Skip to content

7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess

March 26, 2013

20130326-173203.jpg

This book could not have been delivered to my doorstep at a more fitting time. And even better, it was not delivered by the UPS man but sent straight from the heart of Texas and a dear friend. She has no idea how impeccable the timing was.

Last week, during my breaks away from my RD exam study materials (when I’m nutrition therapy and government programmed out), I started the book 7, by Jen Hatmaker, as recommended and sent by my big sis, Lindsay.

In the book, Hatmaker decides (in much more detail than that) that she wants to try a new way of life in order to bring Jesus back to the center of her life. Her purpose behind the project is stated perfectly in the introduction, “Jesus, may there be less of me and my junk and more of You and Your kingdom.” The book details Hatmaker’s seven month journey, reducing seven areas of her life to seven simple choices. The seven areas she selected are as follows: food, clothes, possessions, media, waste, spending and stress.

Trying to stay focused on passing the RD exam relatively soon, I have only made it through the first area: food. (Wouldn’t ya know?!) During this month, she only consumed seven food items: chicken, eggs, whole-wheat bread, sweet potatoes, spinach, avocados and apples. It is during this time that Hatmaker is able to think differently of food.

I wanted to share this below passage with you because I found it so relatable, interesting and well written. I would guess that each of you can probably relate to at least a sentence or two.

Hatmaker writes,

I’ve been drinking the Kool Aid the marketing industry, food lobbyist, nutritional “experts,” and the FDA have been selling. You say oat bran is the new messiah? Check. Include in every recipe from 1988 to 1991. Fat is our enemy? Got it. Enter margarine, only one molecule away from plastic. Now carbohydrates are evil? Delete from menu. Insert angry feelings toward orange juice and other sneaky foods conspiring to make me fat. High fructose corn syrup is healthy because it’s made from corn? Bring on the, well, ten million products it is pumped into.

After all, according to its Web site (12) high fructose corn syrup “can be part of a balanced diet”, and these people would never lie to us. Evidently, our obesity epidemic has nothing to do with a highly processed sugar diet, but “a decrease in PE classes and other plausible explanations.” (I know I haven’t had a decent PE class since 1991.) Also? Good news! Its expert panel concluded that frequently consuming soft drinks will not increase our obesity risk at all (13). Sweet surprise indeed! Dr. Pepper for everyone and pass the Oreos.

But beware of the carrots. They have an agenda.

Honestly, I have swallowed this whole. I haven’t had a glass of orange juice in four years, but I’ve had no problem drinking Diet Coke, with substantiated links to cancer and kidney failure. But it’s fat free. My nutritional perspective is so tainted by marketing I’ve lost touch with common sense.

Does this sound familiar to any of you? Based on the conversations that I have had with numerous people regarding nutrition, that statement hits the understanding of nutrition in this country right on the forehead. Through this blog and my future work, I hope that I am able to rid or decrease the confusion of nutrition and help it all make sense for you again.

Since I am only in the beginning of the book, once I am finished with it I will be sure to do a full review of the book, but thus far in, I highly recommend it to all of you. It has already helped me put things back into perspective, remember what is truly important and realize how easy it is to forget that as Americans, we don’t live like the rest of the world. I was quickly reminded of this when I learned that if you or I make more than $35,000 a year then we are in the top 4% of the earnings of the world. And if you or I make $50,000 a year than we are in the top 1% of the world. Fascinating, isn’t it? It certainly was for me.

And now onto the Clothes chapter! I’m eager to see what I will gain and learn through this month for Hatmaker.

Have a gracious Tuesday night!

Good Health!

Name

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2013 3:50 pm

    Thanks for sharing. *Raising my hand* — guilty as charged!

Leave a comment