Skip to content

Heavy Legs, A Letter to the Easter Bunny and Easter Recipe Link Love

March 28, 2013

Today was just one of those days. And by one of those days I’m talking about my not so good run. This morning, Dustin and I set out for a three-mile run together. I could already tell it wasn’t going to be my best run when I tried to convince him that I was only going two miles instead of the three we normally run.

Enter former professional athlete thinking here: “You might as well not even run then,” he said.

Now we all know that isn’t true but he clearly knew the words I needed to hear to jump on board for entire three-mile run and off we went. I huffed and puffed the entire run and with only half of a mile left, I let him know that I was about to walk the remaining way home.

His response: “That’s weak-minded, Ashley. You’ve run a marathon before and you can’t finish three miles?”

Geeezzzzz! Can’t a girl get a break!?

What do you know? He was right. I finished the three and was happy that I had a drill sargent my husband there to pull me through. What is marriage for if it’s not to make you run when you may or may not have had one too many vegan peanut butter cookies made by the little sis last night? Just kidding! Even tough my body felt weak, remaining mentally strong was all that I needed. Somedays I feel like I can run forever and other days I want to stop before I start.

The bad run was quickly forgotten when we walked in the door to find a green smoothie made by mom waiting for us.

20130328-175842.jpg

She said it was spinach, frozen bananas, blueberries, peanuts, vegan protein powder and almond milk. Perfectly green just in time for Easter!

And speaking of Easter, will the Easter Bunny be visiting your house this weekend? If so, do us both a favor and request that he keep the high fructose corn syrup, hydrogenated oils and artificial dyes to himself this year. Instead ask that he deliver something a little bit healthier this Easter Sunday.

If you’re anything like me, throwing things carefully putting together the ideas that I have been compiling for weeks at the last-minute is usually how I roll. And even though I don’t have any children right now, I’m sure making easter baskets for them one day will be no different. I’ve made it easy for you this year though; all you have to do is print this letter regarding healthy Easter ideas and mail it to the Easter Bunny. He’ll be sure to deliver a happy and healthy Easter this year! (One can wish! But I’m sure you’re capable of pulling off a healthy Easter too!)

20130328-183325.jpg

Dear EB,

Please include any or ALL of the following items in my child’s easter basket this year (and bring me one too while you’re at it!):

Food ideas:

Non-food ideas:

  • BPA free, reuseable water bottles
  • Jump rope
  • Headbands
  • Bright colored, no-show socks
  • Colorful hair ties
  • Jump rope
  • Sidewalk chalk
  • Lip gloss/nail polish
  • Herb seed packets
  • Bible
  • Books
  • Magazines
  • Journal
  • Sunglasses

Yours Truly,

The Best (insert your title here) Ever

Along with the letter, maybe you want to request that he deliver some of these side dishes for your Easter brunch too. I plan on making some/all of them for our Easter lunch on Sunday! (See the links for the photo source and recipes.)

20130328-191833.jpg

Veggie Flowers (to go with …)

20130328-191847.jpg

Roasted Beet Hummus

20130328-191901.jpg

Mushroom and Red Wine Quinoa Risotto

20130328-192201.jpg

Roasted Purple Potato Salad

Do you have any favorite Easter recipes/foods that you’d like to share? If so, I’d love to know!

I hope you have a wonderful Easter Weekend! Good Health!

Name

No comments yet

Leave a comment