Skip to content

Carb Overload?

March 4, 2011

Reader Question:

So I love eating quinoa..I have been addicted to the recipe you gave me, along with the different varieties I have tried, and it’s been such an easy way to prepare lunch for my whole week. But is it bad if I am eating my oats in the morning and quinoa with beans for lunch,  since both contain carbs?? I am just concerned I am eating too many carbs. At night I eat veggies and either grilled chicken or fish. If you could give me your input on whether I am eating too many carbs that would be great!

Answer:

As a new vegetarian, I understand exactly what you are saying, however as long as you are not going over your recommended calorie intake you should see no problems.

Carbohydrates and protein both have 4 calories per gram, therefore the two are pretty equal when it comes to caloric intake.  I would however recommend that you add some protein to your breakfast, such as eggs, greek/regular yogurt, ect. since that will slow down the digestion of your oatmeal, allowing you to feel full until lunch.  

Inside of your body, as long as you are eating a bean with a grain (complementary proteins), your body metabolizes this as protein, so really your getting a ‘two for one’ type deal, energy from the carbohydrate as well as a source of protein.  

Carbohydrates should make up anywhere from 45-65% of your daily intake. So just as an example, if someone is taking in 2000 calories per day, about 1000 of those calories should be carbohydrates. Again, since carbs have 4 calories per gram that would be approx. 250g of carbs per day (that’s just an example).  If your protein comes from a complimentary source (e.g. beans and rice), your CHO intake will be higher, but remember you are getting protein there too.  

I don’t add up grams or anything like that per day; I just try to balance out my meals. That might get a little obsessive, and honestly, in the way of life 🙂 If I know we’re having a “carby” dinner, like spaghetti, I will lower my carb intake at lunch, for example have an open faced sandwich instead of having 2 pieces of bread or a salad topped with kidney beans or egg whites.  

I love your nightly dinners (fish and veggies); that’s the perfect way to end the day!  Since food is really supposed to give us energy to sustain our day, a dinner high in carbs isn’t necessary.  We don’t need a TON of energy (calories) to sleep, that’s why it’s more important to have a large, filling breakfast.

And also, to anyone reading this, please remember, I’m not an RD, only on the road to become one!

Send your questions to ashleym12940 at yahoo dot com.

No comments yet

Leave a comment