Skip to content

Body, Mind, and Soul

February 18, 2011

The older I get, not that I’m old, the more I understand my body; I understand what feels right and what feels wrong.  Our bodies are so much smarter than we ever give them credit for, yet we stay confused as to why things aren’t going right inside.  When things feel wrong, they are wrong, and we should listen and adjust. 

The most important thing about eating healthy, for me, is the way I feel, not the way I fit into my jeans, not what the scale says, and not anything else.  When I eat good I feel good, it’s as simple as that.  When I over indulge, my body let’s me know I’ve done wrong.  When I’ve eaten too little, my body tells me.  When I’ve overtrained, it’s more than apparent.  When I haven’t eaten enough vegetables, it’s obvious.  By learning more about how the body works, I now understand what is going on when we do things like this to our bodies; this really helps me connect my actions to my feelings.  Listening to my body is not something I’ve always been able to do; I’ll admit it, binge drinking in college, was definitely not something my body responded well to. 

Understanding were I am in my skin is so important to me now.  When I have a craving, I fulfill it, in the past I usually would have denied my body only leading to damage later down the road.  When I hurt my ankle, it was hard, but I had to listen even if it meant giving up running for quite some time, and I’m still not back 100%.  My mind is calm when my body is happy, therefore satisfying my soul.  Why do you choose to eat healthy? Is it because it’s what you think you should/have to do or is it for another reason?  The more we believe in something, the more we will make sure it happens.  I believe in healthy eating because it satisfies not only my body but my mind and soul as well.  Nutrition matters and can make all the difference in the world.  The foods we put in our bodies truly can change our lives.  

Leave a comment