Skip to content

A different kind of ‘Zing Zang’

February 11, 2011

Today I had a friend ask for some low cal cocktail ideas and I literally read her text and thought, “Hum.. I’ll have to think about that one.”  I went on with my day, got my hair cut and ran by the grocery store, however, if you know me, you know there’s no such thing as “running into the grocery store.”  I promise you I have honestly spent hours at a time in the grocery store; I kid you not.  It’s not something I’m proud of nor is it something I try to do, however, it just happens! I get caught up reading label after label after label. 

Over Christmas break, Dustin, Jonny, Viviana and I went up to 74 Ranch in Jasper, GA and accidentally got snowed in for the night.  We didn’t plan well at all; we had no groceries, no food, no dinner, nada.  There happened to be a Dollar General nearly across the street so the girls (Viviana and I) were in charge of figuring out what the heck we were going to have for dinner.

We set out to find dinner because we knew Dollar General wasn’t going to suffice.  I mean come on, Dollar General for dinner?  We jumped in her car and tried to venture into town which was probably about ten miles away; we were flying by cars as they were pulled over on the side of the road.  We both kept asking each other, “What in the world are these people doing?” Like they were the dumb ones.  After about two or three miles of driving, we knew we were the dumb ones, the road was close just ahead and we had to turn around.  Ice covered the roads and we didn’t even realize it; how safe.  

So, Dollar General it would be (enter me screaming here).  We ran into to the store as they were closing to grab something edible as quickly as possible.  My label reading really slowed us down.  Our conversations went like this;  Viviana, “How about PB&Js?”  Me, “There’s High Fructose Corn Syrup in this jelly and hydrogenated oil in that PB, no.”  Viv, “Okay, soup?” Me, “Let me see the can.  No, I can’t pronounce any of those words.” Viv, “Umm… The boy’s will probably like Ravioli?”  Me, “Can I see it? No.” 

You get it.  I’m a label reader to say the least.  That’s why it’s easier for me to just stick to the foods without a label; fruits, veggies, etc. I can only imagine what Viviana was thinking, “YOU ARE CRAZY!!“ 

So back to my story of today, I spent forever in the grocery store and once I got home it was “5 o’clock somewhere,” and that somewhere happened to be my house.  

I was slicing my veggies, cleaning my fruit and organizing everything form the store and it hit me… the perfect “Healthier Cocktail.”

No, alcohol surly isn’t a health food nor does it belong in any health category, however, for some, alcohol is a part of life, it’s there and it’s not going away.  Like everything else, it’s just about moderation.  Some studies have shown that a glass of red wine a day may be good for heart health, but there are also several other things that are just as good for heart health, simply put, the grape that makes the wine?

So, if you are an alcohol drinker just stick to moderation; no, no Quarter Pounder is going to kill you eaten in moderation, just like alcohol in moderation won’t kill you either.  It’s the over consumption of both of these things that will however lead to disease down the road.  

Now that you’ve heard my stories, I’ll get on with my post.

As I was chopping my celery into sticks for snacks later in the week, the perfect drink came to mind.  A Bloody Mary WITHOUT HFCS, sugar, non-food additives, or any other poison that brands such as Zing Zang include in their “Awarding Winning Mixes.”  Please, that deserves no award in my book.  (Not to call anyone out.)

So here you go, a clean Bloody Mary to add a little zing zang to your Friday night, not sodium and chemicals.

Ingredients:

3/4 cup Tomato Sauce (more if you like it very Tomato-e)

4.5 oz. Vodka (more or less depending on how strong you want your drink, 4.5 makes them pretty strong)

3/4 cup Water

Juice of half a Lemon

1/8 tsp Horseradish

1/2 tsp Worcestershire Sauce

4 drops Tobasco Sauce (more if you want more spice)

Salt to taste

Pepper to taste

2 Celery Sticks

Throw it all in a drink shaker, minus the celery, shake it up.  Pour over two glasses of ice, add your celery sticks and another dash of pepper, and consider it done!  

Happy Friday…thank goodness!  Time to make some Enchiladas!

No comments yet

Leave a comment