Skip to content

Are you there, Ashley?

September 29, 2010

Last week, was a week, well, that I hope to forget; all except for Dustin’s birthday that is.  I was totally checked out…as good as gone.  The Ashley that I have always known disappeared on me.  Weird, I know.  Last week was one of the strangest weeks that I have had since long before I changed my last name.  

First, I do need to note that school is killing me.  I took 21 hours once during my first undergrad degree, and now for some reason I thought it was a good idea to do it again.  Taking 21 hours of classes for a journalism degree is possible; I know, because I did it.  Taking 21 hours towards a nutrition degree is another story.  Anatomy, Statistics, Accounting, Psychology, Bio and Organic Chemistry, Human Nutrition, and more, should NEVER be taken together or for that matter all in the same semester, but I’m crazy, so I’m doing it.  This explains why I haven’t been blogging nearly at all.  I love to write, especially about nutrition, but right now I’m having to write so much that when I’m not writing it’s hard to write ‘just for fun.’ 

To begin my ‘hope to soon forget’ week last week, I had an Anatomy test Tuesday morning at 9:30.  Monday night, I had to pull my first ‘all-nighter,’ and by this I literally mean ALL night.  Yes, I stayed awake all night Monday night studying until I went to my test Tuesday morning.  This was the first recipe for disaster; I NEED MY SLEEP. As a health and fitness nut, I know sleep is one of the most important things in my life, and it really does take a lot for me to give up my sleep, hence why Dustin calls me ‘grand-ma’ or ‘the oldest 23 year old that he knows.’  

With the lack of sleep starting my week, the rest of the week was only downnnn hill from there.  Like I said, Ashley checked out for the week and someone else took over my body.  I don’t eat processed foods, or rather, I try not to eat processed foods, and what did I live on last week?  Triscuits and Pretzles.  What?  Exactly.  I was a spiraling tornado or at least that’s what it felt like.  

Never, in the past 2 or 3 years, have I completely taken a break from running or working out or some form of exercise.  I always take ‘weeks off’ from exercise/ working out, however these ‘weeks off’ always include some form of movement; walking, yoga, biking, etc.  Last week however, NONE, nada, zip.  Not one day.  I definitely am busier than I have been in my entire life, but I’m not going to give up my health for a degree, sorry.  

I have recently been prescribed to a medication, and just to note, I think is awful.  It may not be that terrible, but I hate medicine; I’d rather my body heal itself but you can disagree.  I’m not positive if my horrible week had anything to do with this new medication but I definitely think so, therefore sorry doc, my body can heal itself by the foods, the real foods, I put in it.  

On a positive note, I feel MUCH more like myself this week, without that crappy medication or lack of sleep.  My Thanksgiving Day Half-Marathon Training started and am really excited to try and beat my last years time.  If any of you are interested in running it with me, awesome! Let’s do it; sign up!

Happy Tuesday!

Ashley (It’s really me!)

No comments yet

Leave a comment