Skip to content

DIY Workout

November 12, 2011

Wahoo! A post not about long distance running…something you and I can both be excited about!

As I’ve already admitted in an earlier post, my mentality on life is a little intense.  I am very goal oriented and always like to be working toward something, whatever it may be.  Because of that, toward the end of my marathon training, you guessed it, I was already thinking about what I was going to do next.  I threw out a few ideas to Dustin and he did what he always does, brought me back down to earth and reminded me that the holiday season is coming up.  This is a time to enjoy, whether it may be an extra portion of my favorite dish on Thanksgiving day or a glass or two of Egg-less Vegan Nog on Christmas eve, this isn’t the time to go into extremely strict training mode, but rather a time to enjoy life with family and friends; after all, it only comes but once a year!  I also know that this isn’t a time to throw it all away either.

In just a few short weeks (on December 16), Dustin will be turning his tassel, graduating from GSU, something he never though he would (or have to) do.  Obviously not because he’s not smart enough but because we had no idea that his baseball career would end when or as it did.

Since I will not be finished with my Nutrition/Food Science degree until May (therefore Dust will be in the ‘Boro until then as well), Dustin plans on completing his personal training certificate over Christmas break so that for the following six months he can do what he loves most: help people improve their lives through exercise and fitness.

This morning Dustin took me in as his first client, moving me on and away from my endurance, aerobic exercise to an extremely intense anaerobic workout, blasting my heart rate in just thirty minutes time (the best part!).

For the next few weeks, I’ll be doing this work out (below) 3 days a week, still teaching yoga 4 days a week, and mixing in a few spin classes/distance running about twice a week.  Sunday will still be my off day (besides teaching), and is usually spent at church in the mornings and studying all day long (can’t wait for tomorrow). 

Dustin’s Heart Pumping Workout (using a Gymboss for easy timing)

Warm up:

(jumping rope)

  • 30 seconds on/30 seconds off x 3 jump rope
  • Series of dynamic stretches (taking about 5 minutes)

Workout:

  • Squat press with med ball
  • Push-ups (elbows in)
  • In and out crunches
  • Repeat x2 (until body adjusts to work out, then x3)
  • 1 minute rest
  • Side lunges
  • Single arm curls with resistance band
  • Burpees
  • Repeat x2 (until body adjusts to work out, then x3) 
  • 1 minute rest

(single arm curls)

  • Squat jump with reach above head
  • Hand step-ups (in plank position, hand steps onto about 6 inch box)
  • Mountain climbers
  • Repeat x2 (until body adjusts to work out, then x3) 
  • 1 minute rest
  • Sprint tabatas x 8 sets (20 seconds on, 10 seconds off)

This workout  took me a total of 27 minutes (once I start repeating each sequence 3x instead of 2, it will probably take around 35 minutes). It’s much easier to push myself when I’m only going for half an hour vs. three hours!

I absolutely love being married to someone who motivates me to be my best everyday. All credit to him! If you’re in the ‘Boro and are looking for someone to get you into great shape post Christmas break, let me know! He really is the best, no matter what your level might be.

Happy Saturday and good health!

Ashley

No comments yet

Leave a comment