Skip to content

I’m sorry.

November 4, 2011

It has been brought to my attention that while through this blog I am hoping to help others find health, I come across in a rather different tone.  I have never meant to make anyone feel intimidated by adequate health.  I am sorry if I have left you feeling hopeless when it comes to your health: like I have made it seem so far away or impossible for the average person.  Good health can be obtained by anyone who chooses so.

I have been told by someone I highly respect that while yes, my writing may inspire some, it also makes people feel that the only way to live a healthy life is through radical change.  You and I both know that isn’t true.  It’s about small steps: one change at a time.  I am not trying to tell you that the only way to be healthy is by eating a vegetarian or vegan diet and run marathons, nor am I trying to tell you that I live a perfectly healthy life. I have my struggles just like you.  I don’t want to seem unreachable or like I live in this unrealistic world.  I have my beliefs, you have yours.  What may be important to me might not be important to you and vise versa.

I do realize that I am a perfectionist, which I do not consider to be a good character quality and that you may not be (and probably aren’t).  Perfection is unobtainable and I know that.  I am also an extremist: also, another character flaw.  I know no middle ground and I can admit that. That’s what makes me me.

I realize that one mile may seem like a lot to some, while fifty miles may seem normal to others.  I try to reach both audiences through this blog. I know that running marathons is unrealistic for some and am by no means trying to tell you through this blog that that is the only way to be healthy; actually, I don’t really consider marathon running healthy at all.

I do want you to know that I respect any steps that you may take to improve your health, even if it’s choosing apple slices with your McDonalds Quarter Pounder.  I don’t want you to think that I think that the way I chose to live my life is any better than the way you live your life.  We are all different. This world would be so boring if not.  I face my own challenges everyday when it comes to living a healthy life.  We are all marching toward the same goal: to live the best life that we can possibly live.  And that is the goal of this blog: to help you get there.

Anyways, with that off my chest, have a wonderful weekend; I am off to teach and then to Savannah.  Hopefully, I will have my first marathon recap for you sometime Sunday! I am so excited!

Good Health!

Ashley

3 Comments leave one →
  1. april permalink
    November 6, 2011 4:06 am

    Ashley, I have been reading your blogs for some time now. I want to let you know that you are a great source of inspiration to me. Your blogs connect nutrition and eating to everyday life. You motivate me to want to do better with my diet and exercise. Keep up the good work!

    • Ashley Harper Evans permalink*
      November 10, 2011 12:21 pm

      Thank you so much. Your kind words me more than you will ever know to me. You keep up the amazing work as well 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. DIY Workout « Striving each day to eat in a way in which God intended.

Leave a comment