Skip to content

Sans Fruit and Nut Salad

June 21, 2011

When enough is enough.

This weekend Dustin and I went home (the Atlanta area) and for some reason, traveling for me, always means eating a little more than normal.  But that’s okay because we had a wonderful weekend, got to see both families, as well as some great friends!

But still, there was one problem…

It all started at breakfast yesterday morning:  I had oatmeal with peaches, blueberries, bananas, and walnuts (note: fruit and nuts).  For lunch, we were on the road headed back to Statesboro, so we stopped at Publix to grab something quick.  Well, I guess I have a problem, because I couldn’t find ANYTHING AT ALL to eat.  Most Publix’ have a good selection of healthy food, well, apparently not in Macon.  I was looking for some hummus and every kind they offered, contained about 98350985 ingredients.  No. Okay…vegetarian sushi?  Sure…not! Thanks Publix for putting High Fructose Corn Syrup in your “housemaid” sushi?!  Because I’m sure it reallyyyyy needs it.  So finally I walked out of there with a fruit bowl… great lunch.  We had some pecans in the car, so that was my lunch, fruit and nuts.  When we got home, our refrigerator was empty, however, we had a package waiting for us from iHerb, with raw cashews and raw almonds in it, so of course I had a handful (note: more nuts).  Needless to say, by yesterday afternoon, I was TIRED of fruit and nuts.  I wanted nothing more than some veggies and protein, so while at the gym yesterday, we decided it was going to be a massive salad kind of night.

I’m So Tired Of You (Sans) Fruit and Nut, Salad:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:  (The picture doesn’t do justice) EVERY VEGETABLE POSSIBLE!

  • Orgainc Baby Lettuces (Organic Baby Red and Green Romaine, Organic Baby Red and Greek Oak Leaves, Organic Baby Red Leaves, Organic Lollo Rosa, Organic Tango, Organic Red and Green Chard, Organic Mizuna, Organic Arugula, Organic Mache, Organic Frisee, Organic Radicchio)
  • Organic Spinach
  • Fresh spring baby yellow onion
  • Roasted red pepper
  • Purple onion
  • Radishes
  • Roasted beets
  • Green bell pepper
  • Artichoke hearts
  • Grape tomatoes
  • Cucumber
  • Avocado
  • Flax seeds
  • Chia seeds
  • Nutritional Yeast
  • Chic peas
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Rice Vinegar
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Spicy Brown Mustard
  • Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder
  • Lemon Juice

I threw it all in a big bowl and mixed it up!  Finally, no fruit or nuts!!

And in case you were wondering, no, Dustin isn’t completely on board with me yet… we added some grilled chicken to his:  I’m going to keep hoping, praying, wishing, ect. though!  Not because it would be wayyyyy easier to have a completely vegetarian kitchen (orrrrr vegan!), but because I love him and care about his health as well!

No comments yet

Leave a comment