Skip to content

We’ve got the Beet!

June 20, 2011

Say whatttt?  I know that’s what your thinking.  Okay, okay… I was a little nervous at first but who wouldn’t want a pink burger, I mean, really!?

Aren’t they cute?

I tried my first beet a few weeks ago (as far as I know), and have fallen, fallen hard.  Last semester one of my professors kept talking about how “Beets are so good for you! Do you eat beets? You should.”  I remember wanting to raise my hand and tell her that they taste like dirt, but now, she would be happy to know that my mind has changed!

Let me introduce you to the one and only Beet Burger.

Recipe adapted from my newest cookbook, Color Me Vegan. 

Ingredients

1 cups raw beets, peeled and grated

1/3 cup cooked quinoa

1/3 cup cooked barley (the recipe called for bulgar and I will probably try it next time to help keep the burgers together a little more)

1/2 cup toasted sunflower seeds

1/4 c toasted sesame seeds

1/4 c minced onion

1/4 cup bread crumbs (I used panko, any whole wheat will work)

2 tbsp EVOO

1.5 tbsp all-purpose flour

1.5 tbsp finely chopped fresh parsley

2 cloves of garlic, finley chopped

1.5 tbsp tamari sauce

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

salt, to taste

Directions

Preheat oven to 350.  Spray baking sheet with oil.  In a large bowl, combine grated beets, barley, quinoa, sunfolwer seeds, sesame seeds, onion, bread crumbs, oil, flour, parsley, garlic, tamari, cayenne, and salt.

Form your burgers (if they fall apart add more bulgar/barley/quinoa), about 6.  Bake for 25 minutes or until firm; flip halfway through cooking.

Serve on whole wheat buns (or without) and top with sliced tomato, sautéed onions, and avocado slices.

Asparagus, Chinese Sweet Potato topped with sautéed onions, and the Beet Burger before toppings!

Leave a comment