Skip to content

It’s That Time of Year!

October 21, 2010

Time to cook with PuMpKiN!  The other day I found a super easy, super delicious Flax Pumpkin Muffin recipe, so I decided to try it out!  My baking, for the first time, was a success!  Maybe because I followed the recipe??  Except, I did change one thing up… of course.  Instead of using pure white sugar, I used Sun Crystals.  This is an all natural sweetener made up of pure cane sugar and stevia; you can use less so it is less caloric.  Still tasted great to me!

Here is the recipe, seriously so easy!

Pumpkin Flax Muffins

3/4 c Sun Crystals (or 1 c sugar)

1 c pumpkin puree (I pureed my own; chop up a small pumpkin, throw it in the microwave for 5 minutes, mush it up, viola!)

1/2 c unsweetened applesauce

1 organic egg

1/4 c canola or extra virgin olive oil

1/2 c flaxseed meal

1 1/2 c whole wheat flour

1/2 c wheat bran

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cloves

Mix sugar, pumpkin, applesauce, egg and oil.  Mix dry ingredients together and stir into pumpkin mixture just until combined.  Pour into 12 large muffin cups, or I used 24 mini muffin cups, and bake for about 20 minutes at 400 degrees.

Recipe from SparkPeople.

It’s almost the weekend!!

No comments yet

Leave a comment