Skip to content

Healthy Eating: It’s Not an Illness!

July 30, 2010

Eating clean is not a disease, I repeat, eating clean is not a disease, in fact, it may sure cure your disease.

I cannot tell you the number of times people have treated me like I have an illness or problem because I choose to eat healthy.  “Ashley, can you eat this?” or “Like, are you allowed to have that?”  I can eat and can have, with the exception of dairy products, anything I want! But what most people consider food, I consider science.  No, I don’t eat packaged, processed chemicals, but it’s a personal decision, not because of some impaling illness that I’m trying to cure. 

The other day I was going to the grocery store and of course, Cameron (my 12 year old sister) added a few things to the list as I was leaving, like any kid would do:  Strawberry Frosted Mini Wheats, Special K Fruit Crisp Bars, and and the bottom of my list she printed, “Sprite, PLEASEEEE!”  Girl knows me too well, yeah right, the “please” in this case does nothing.

I was going to Publix instead of Whole Foods that day, so I went with the intentions of finding something similar to what she wanted, just without all of the toxins, ADHD inducing dyes, preservatives, etc.  Yes, she was going to complain once I got home, but I’ll listen to it because I know the trade off would be worth it.

If I were going to Whole Foods I know they wouldn’t even sell that crap, but Publix often sells the crap and the good stuff too.  Unfortunately, they didn’t have anything comparable so I had to FORCE myself to buy the self-harming, terrible food.  It literally killed me to support companies that are truly hurting kids more than helping. My dog, Boss, eats a healthier breakfast than Strawberry Frosted Mini Wheats, literally.

Now, as far as the “Sprite, PLEASE!!!!” comment, no way.  There is no way I would harm my sister that much, even though she doesn’t understand, one day she will. 

Cameron is my work in progress; it’s hard to stop a kid from being a kid, but I want to expand her knowledge as much as possible while I am home.  She went with me to Whole Foods on Tuesday and loved it.  She got a clean smoothie made with all of the right ingredients; it’s things like this that truly make me happy.  She even tried a sample shot of Wheat Grass.  This why I know I’ll love working in the Nutrition field;  I can help others make simple decisions that will really change their lives. 

Cameron once said to me, “What can I do? I have no energy.” I told her to drink a lot of water.  “Water?,” she said. “Water has nothing in in.”  Exactly.  Before there were billion dollar companies trying to steal your money on energy drinks, God gave us water.  A few hours later, she came to me and said, “I did what you said and drank water and it really did work!?”  Slowly but surely she’s learning and hopefully helping her friends too. 

I am so lucky, glad, blessed, etc. that my mom and dad “get” it.  They understand.  They will spend the extra money on organic foods because it’s worth it.  Life would be really difficult if they didn’t, especially since we are living with them right now.  My mom cooks clean, enjoys organic meats, and doesn’t treat us like we have a problem for wanting to eat clean, healthy foods. 

Dustin’s parents “get” it too.  Recently we went to the beach with them and Dustin’s mom came to me and said, “This was the first time I’ve ever lost weight on vacation.  It’s because you’re teaching me how to eat healthy.”  See people can enjoy life, enjoy vacation and not sabotage themselves with the chemicals (some call it food) America in now mass producing.

Leave a comment